Bob Morris
Associated with: The Hush Sound
Bob Morris

The Hush Sound is an American indie pop band from Chicago, Illinois, United States. Initially named "The Hush," the band later changed its name to "The Hush Sound" due to the discovery of a rapper with the same name. The band consists of Bob Morris (vocals and guitar), Chris Faller (bass guitar) and vocals), Darren Wilson (drums, percussion and vocals), and Greta Salpeter (vocals and piano). Mike Leblanc (bass guitar) temporarily replaced Faller for a few months in 2008.

In 2005, the band released their first studio album, So Sudden. Their second studio album, Like Vines, was released in 2006 under the independent record label, Fueled by Ramen. Their third album, Goodbye Blues, was recorded in October and November 2007 in Los Angeles and was released March 18, 2008.

The Hush Sound was on hiatus from 2008 to 2012. They played shows together sporadically during this period, but have recently stated that they are back together and recording new music. In Spring 2013, they released a new EP, "Forty Five" and announced a forthcoming full-length record.

2004–05: Formation and So Sudden

The Hush Sound was founded by Greta Salpeter and Bob Morris. The two met when Greta was in 7th grade and Bob was in 10th. Bob had always been a player and performer of rock music, whereas Greta was a classical pianist. The band formed in late 2004/early 2005, while writing songs they felt worthy of publication. During their early years in the Chicago community of Pilsen, they would hold practice in Throop Park and play live for the Razas. In their early work, the band dealt mostly with acoustic music. Once the band decided that a piano and guitar were not enough for the sound it wished to achieve, the band members started searching for a drummer and a bass player willing to join their band. They soon recruited bassist Chris Faller and drummer Darren Wilson who had played in a previous band together, "Until Sundown."

By the end of March 2005, The Hush Sound took its music to producer Brian Zieske who helped them realize their vision for their debut full-length album. The album was tracked at Gallery of Carpet Recording in Villa Park, Illinois. They named the album So Sudden; a reflection on how quickly things were moving for the band. They released their first album with no label support at the time, but nevertheless sold 300 CDs in two nights.

Five months later, the band began performing live. Shortly thereafter, the group gained the attention of Fall Out Boy’s Pete Wentz. On the day they were streaming So Sudden on purevolume, Ryan Ross formerly of Panic! at the Disco discovered their page and passed it along to Pete Wentz. Wentz, liking what he heard, sent The Hush Sound an email, stating that he was interested in signing them to his Decaydance Records label.

The Hush Sound was soon signed to Decaydance Records (now known as DCD2 records). So Sudden was re-released under that label, and the band immersed itself in writing for its second album.

2006–08: Like Vines and Goodbye Blues

Like Vines was recorded in March 2006 over three weeks with producer Sean O' Keefe and co-producer Patrick Stump of Fall Out Boy.

On March 18, 2008, The Hush Sound released an album entitled Goodbye Blues. They recorded the album with producer Kevin Augunas, whom they met while on the SXSW tour. Morris stated on the band's official website that the band was "extremely impressed" with the "positive force" of Augunas. The album was released on March 18. The song "Medicine Man" can be heard in commercials for the TV series Grey's Anatomy and the TV series House while the song "Hurricane" can be heard in commercials for The Young and the Restless. The song "Honey" was featured in the episode "All About Appearances" on the television series Privileged.

"You can expect some songs with balls... some songs of quirk... and some groovy tunesies. — Bob Morris”

On October 23, 2008, it was announced on the band's official MySpace that bassist Chris Faller had chosen to leave the band in order to pursue other musical interests, and that Mike LeBlanc, who had toured with them previously on their "Dance Across the Country Tour," would temporarily be playing the bass in Faller's place.

2009–present: Hiatus and reunion

In the fall of 2008, The Hush Sound confirmed that they will be taking a hiatus to pursue other careers in music. Greta formed Gold Motel and they released their debut EP in December 2009. Their full-length album was released on June 1, 2010. Bob has announced his band, Stamps the Band, which he is currently working on as of now. The band played a reunion show at Chicago's Metro concert hall on December 26, 2010 and two shows at Bottom Lounge on February 3 and 4, 2012.

The band ended their hiatus and announced a small number of tour dates for fall 2012. They have been playing new songs and are working an EP or album for release in 2013 with the original lineup. Two of their new songs were released on March 20, 2013 (the day after the last stop on their tour), on an EP called "Forty Five". One of the songs, "Not a Stranger," was released via The Onion's "AV Club." In 2016, they embarked on another reunion tour branded as their "1000 Year Anniversary Tour".

Bob Morris uses: